Wisdom Society

September 26, 2012 at 2:54 pm Leave a comment

This is something I have been thinking about lately, I just can’t give up on the idea.

The thing is that it seems to me we have made a good job implementing information society in just a few decades. In comparison to the thousands of years necessary to implement the agricultural society, or the hundreds of years it took us to promote industrial society, information society just seems to go on wheels. The next step to knowledge society seems to be just around the corner or here already, can anybody be absolutely sure? But my problem is that I do not see the same progress in the direction of a wisdom society. And today, while I was listening to Matthew Taylor, twitted by Gavin Heaton I thought to myself, “that’s it”. There might be more people around who just think all this information and knowledge is of no use if we can’t teach people and ourselves to be peaceful, respectful, solidary, open-hearted… And maybe I’m a dreamer, but I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Mathew mentions the social aspiration gap, that is, the gap between the kind of aspirations we have (the kind of society we want to live in) and the trajectory on which our current behavior places us. I have high aspirations for our society but I don’t feel intellectually committed to them. I’ve been emotionally and spiritually committed to a more peaceful world, but not intellectually. Today I want to make a point for wisdom society, where knowledge reminds us of our humanity and enables us to live it fully. In wisdom society, knowledge enables us to combine responsible and trusted authority, share commitment to mutual support and capture the firepower of individual ambition – like Mathew says. The things you learn when you host the Olimpic games… Just hope brazil can learn as much…

Today I’ve realized how big the social aspiration gap is in my case. I will work to reduce this gap from now on. Yes I will.

Entry filed under: Wisdom Society. Tags: .

A case study in progress Challenges of educational use of 3D virtual environments

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

