I’m loving it

October 7, 2020 at 10:40 am Leave a comment

My students take different degrees of Education at the Rovira i Virgili University. The pamdemic has thrown the teaching team of the Communication Skills course out of our comfort zone. We have worked hard and lovingly to make our teaching an online experience that is useful, challenging, and enriching for our students.

For now I will tell you about the initial activity – OMG! Can’t believe this is just beginning! I am astonished at what is coming to light … We have used Flipped Grid to ask our students to present themselves through an object. They had to choose an object and explain why it could represent them. Couldn’t be simpler, right? So far…

  • 159 responses
  • 39.088 views
  • 258 comments
  • 827.9 hours of engagement

Can you believe it?

Well, world, let me just tell you in my classes I have students who do different sports: football, taikondo, swimming and synchronized swimming, skiing, paddle, figure skating, rowing, rhythmic gymnastics, twirling baton, high jump, basketball … I think we just don’t have people for a dance troupe because the styles are very varied: flamenco, jazz, ballet, sports dance, hip hop … We have at least two singers and two rappers – We are definitely going to record a battle. We have classmates who play the piano, the violin and the guitar. We have a magician. My students also belong to non profit associations and take an active part in the identity festivities of their towns.

Through the objects we have shown each other, we have shared our love for children, education and the opportunity to learn about new cultures. Some of us already have children, others feel very familiar and many of us like to take care of our beloved ones. We care about gender equity, we value creativity and freedom very much. We have cartoonists, we listen to a lot of music and we like reading. We are people with a strong character, positive, cheerful and we all want this pandemic to end soon to live college life in person.

My students can’t be prettier. I wish I could see them all singing, jumping, dancing, doing magic … Ken Robinson would be proud of them.

I am convinced that I have known things about them that would not have been possible if it were not for the pandemic. The current circumstances are an opportunity, a challenge. This is the way I chose to live it. And I’m loving it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hoping it is still November somewhere Educators’ digital identity

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2020
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts